Depending on the device you are using, you may have noticed a new Record button show up when using Philo. If that is the case, you can expect the new Record button to disappear again soon.
What You Need to Know
- Philo recently tested the use of a new Record button in some of its apps.
- The new button appeared to serve exactly the same purpose as the existing Save button.
- It remains unclear why the new button was tested, but it is due to be removed again.
Philo has always offered a good DVR experience. Although it was initially limited to just 30 days (and still is for free users), Philo previously upgraded the experience to ensure subscribers could keep recordings for up to one year.
Regardless of the length of time, Philo subscribers have always been able to record a title by hitting the Save button. This week, however, a new Record button started showing up in some apps. A button which appears to do exactly the same thing as the Save button.
It is for this reason that the new Record button appears to be on its way back out again. In response to a question on Reddit about the purpose of the button, Philo confirmed it was recently added as part of a “temporary experiment.” The reply also confirmed the button is being removed again soon.
While confirmed to be part of an experiment, Philo didn’t explain the purpose of testing a new button.
Considering the Save button can imply a title is being saved (as in watchlisted) instead of recorded, it is possible Philo was testing whether it would be better to have these features more clearly separated.
It is also possible that Philo was considering replacing the Save button with the Record button more generally, ensuring a more obvious use of the feature.
Irrespective of the reason, if you have seen the new Record button show up in your Philo app recently, you can now expect it to be removed again soon.



Start the conversation