This post may contain affiliate links and we may earn a commission. Learn more

It’s Time To Cancel Showtime — Here’s How To Do It

by

in
Showtime logo

Showtime is due to close down by the end of this year. As a result, and whether you do it today or wait a little longer, the time has come to cancel your Showtime subscription.

Earlier this year, Paramount Global confirmed that it was shutting Showtime down. At the same time, the company also made some changes to its Paramount Plus plans. Most notably, the introduction of the new Paramount+ with Showtime plan.

Priced at $11.99 a month, a Paramount+ with Showtime subscription not only unlocks access to the entire Paramount Plus library, but also the Showtime catalog as well.

Paramount+
Paramount+ Live TV$5.99/$11.99 per month
Live channels
On-demand library
3 Streams
7 Days Free

Some existing Showtime subscribers that are planning to switch over to Paramount Plus might have the option to have their account information automatically transferred over, creating a new Paramount Plus account (and subscription) in the process.

Those subscribers will know they are eligible as they’ll see a prompt to transfer the account when logged in to the Showtime website or app. If no transfer prompt is shown when logged in, the user will need to manually cancel their subscription.

Otherwise, they run the risk of ending up paying for two separate subscriptions for the same content.

How to cancel a Showtime subscription

Whether or not you are planning to make the switch to Paramount Plus, the easiest way to cancel a Showtime subscription is through the Showtime website.

  1. Visit showtime.com via a web browser
  2. Sign in, if required
  3. Click the profile icon (top right)
  4. Click Settings (under Account)
  5. Click Cancel Your Subscription (under Your Account)
  6. Follow the instructions to confirm cancelation.

As is typically the case with streaming services, the Showtime subscription won’t immediately be canceled and subscribers won’t be refunded for any unused time. Instead, subscribers will retain access to the service until the end of their current billing cycle.

Canceling Showtime through a third-party

The instructions in the last section relate specifically to subscribers that signed up to Showtime directly. If you have subscribed to Showtime through a live TV streaming service, like DirecTV Stream or YouTube TV, then you will need to also cancel the subscription through the same live TV service.

Exactly how this is done will vary depending on the service. However, the instructions to remove an add-on or premium upgrade like Showtime are normally exactly the same as how the add-on or premium upgrade was added in the first place.

For example, by heading to the Account or Manage plan sections and deselecting the add-on to be removed. In this case, the Showtime add-on.

If subscribed to Showtime as a premium subscription through Amazon (including on Fire TV devices) or The Roku Channel, then the premium subscription will need to be canceled through Amazon (under Your Subscriptions) or The Roku Channel (under Manage Your Subscriptions).

Likewise, if subscribed through an app store like Apple’s App Store or Google’s Play Store, you will also need to cancel the subscription through the same app store. This can be typically done by visiting the app store and checking under Subscriptions in the main menu.

John Finn
Connect


Comments

0 responses to “It’s Time To Cancel Showtime — Here’s How To Do It”

Leave a Reply

Streaming can be frustrating but please be respectful and avoid personal information. All comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Sign up to the Streaming Better newsletter

Get our latest news and guides delivered to your mailbox.