Roku TV and Roku player users are no longer able to add the AT&T TV channel to their device. Considering AT&T TV and AT&T TV NOW are both added to Roku devices through the same channel, this affects subscribers to both services equally.
Roku has grown to become one of the most widely used streaming platforms in the U.S. Whether accessing through a Roku TV or a Roku player, users are able to add “channels” to their device. These channels work in much the same way as an app and are installed from the Roku Store.
In AT&T’s case, since the company rebranded its DIRECTV NOW service as AT&T TV NOW, both AT&T TV and AT&T TV NOW could be accessed on Roku devices by installing the single AT&T TV channel and signing in.
AT&T has now confirmed that the AT&T TV channel has been removed from the Roku Store. Due to this, new subscribers and new Roku device owners are unable to install the channel or access AT&T TV or AT&T TV NOW via a Roku device. AT&T has explained the change in support took effect January 1, 2020. Further confirming the removal, the direct link to the Roku Store AT&T TV channel page now redirects to the Roku Store in general.
Signs of the latest AT&T dispute
According to AT&T, this appears to be the result of deal negotiations between the two with AT&T’s update stating “we’re actively working on a new agreement with Roku and hope to resolve this soon.” In the meantime, it appears there are no quick-fix solutions for new users who will now be forced to access AT&T TV and AT&T TV NOW through another platform.
While there are no further details on what seems like the latest AT&T dispute, AT&T has routinely found itself at odds with third-parties over access to channels during the last year. The company has also been keeping a tight grip on device access in general. For example, while AT&T TV has a new Android TV device, the company has yet to make a version of the app available for owners of other Android TV devices.
This does not appear to be an issue for existing users of the AT&T TV Roku channel with AT&T confirming those who already have the channel installed will be able to continue using the channel. That is, as long as the channel is not deleted from the device. Once removed, it won’t be available to be installed again.